Some believe that modern technology is increasing the gap between rich and poor people, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Modern Technology has definitely impacted every aspect of human lives. For many reasons, some people tend to support the view that new technological developments have led to a divide between the upper class and the lower class while others disagree. In my opinion technological developments has not only bridged the ever-increasing gap of rich and poor but on the other hand made life much easier for the lower class workers. In this essay, I will elucidate both sides of the argument and conclude with my opinion.

Firstly with the advent of the automation, most of the industries are replacing manual jobs with computerized automated machines which has certainly increased the unemployment ratio in the past decade. The effect is more evident in manufacturing industries where according to a survey conducted by global times most of the manual labour jobs are replaced by machines, therefore, affecting the poor class.

Secondly, on the other side of the argument technology inventions like computers, software and automation aid the workers while performing meticulous tasks thereby improving productivity, efficiency. For instance, as per the recent survey conducted in India with the introduction of machines and the latest software in the agriculture industry productivity has increased ten folds thus increasing the profitability and wages of the labour class of the sector. Similar examples can be found in the information technology industry where juvenile minds from the poor families made it to the millionaire club. For instance, founders of internet giants like Amazon, Alibaba, and Facebook all come lower class families. Hence technology has provided innumerable opportunities thus bridging the monetary gap.

To sum up, technology plays a pivotal role in narrowing down the differences in social classes. Improvements in productivity, increased numbers of opportunities in jobs are the best examples in bridging the wealth gap.