Some believe that modern technology is increasing the gap between rich and poor people, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often believed by some that the technological advancements have increased the gap between poor and rich, whereas others think that advanced technology has decreased this gap.In my opinion, technological advances are resulting in decrease in gap between rich and poor because now various opportunities are available to poor at affordable costs or even free which would not have been possible in the past.

On the one hand, some believe that the recent technology comes at a higher price which poor cannot afford, so the gap between poor and rich is increasing. This is to say that in order to benefit from modern technologies, people could spend lot of money to avail those services, resulting in no access to poor for such facilities. For instance, companies such as Google, Facebook etc charge heavy fees for marketing the products of various companies, which might make it difficult for small shops owned by poor to market their businesses.However, I do not agree with this as there are small online marketing companies who cater to the promotion of products offered by shops, and promote their products for free or for a minimal charge, resulting in increase in their business opportunities.

One the other hand, some people claim that advanced technologies have offered various opportunities to poor which were inaccessible to them in the recent past.In other words, poor can now benefit from use of technology use at an affordable cost or even for free, and generate more business opportunities, resulting in more and more wealth creation. For instance, a recent study conducted by the Asian School of Entrepreneurship in 2015 reveals that as a result of social media marketing, small shops are now able to market their products well, resulting in increase in their profits by around 40 percent.I agree to this view because as a result in new technology, poor people now have better platforms to generate wealth, which was unlikely in the recent past.

In conclusion, although advanced technology is expensive for some, it is still resulting in reducing the difference between poor and rich, as now not all technologies are expensive and can benefit the poor as well.