Some believe that modern technology has made people less socially active while others disagree Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is often argued by some that people are not so much active socially than they used to be in the past because of the technological advancements, whereas others do not agree with this. In my opinion, advanced technologies have resulted in people being not much socially active. This essay with discuss both the views, followed by a reasoned conclusion.

One the one hand, some claim that advanced technology has made people feel isolated and therefore made them socially inactive. This is to say that with the introduction of recent technologies, in particular the Internet, individuals tend to spend a significant amount of their time communicating virtually without the need of face-to-face communication. This has led to curbing of the practice of meeting and socializing with friends and family in real. For example, according to a recent article published in The Times in 2016 revealed that in the UK, 70 percent of people prefer to chat online via various social networking sites to stay in touch, rather than meeting in-person, resulting in loneliness.

On the other hand, some disagree and think that with the advancement in the field of technology, people have become more connected to each other. In other words, the availability of various communication platforms has made it possible to communicate easily and conveniently at the touch of a button. People using these technologies can exchange information and communicate whenever they prefer, resulting in building stronger relationships. For instance, a recent survey conducted by a leading technological company revealed that with the release of various applications each year, people are building effective relationships overseas because of these applications being very user-friendly and interactive.

In conclusion, although with the modernization of technology, people have become more connected, however it has curbed the real interaction between people and resulted in isolation.