In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that the government should levy higher tax on companies selling junk food because in some nations, as a consequence of eating such food in large quantities, people with health issues are on the rise. In my opinion, I completely agree that fast food companies should be taxed at a higher rate. This essay will first suggest how increasing the amount of tax will increase the price of junk food and secondly, discuss how imposing higher taxes would help to raise public awareness programs.

Imposing higher tariff would raise the price of junk food considerably because fast food companies would struggle to make profits. In order to compensate for this, they would pass on this increased tax to their customers by charging them more, resulting in discouraging people to eat more because of such type of food being expensive. For instance, according to a news article published in Times in 2016, revealed that after the government had imposed a higher tax on fast food chains in Uganda, the sales went down by around 40 percent because of the increased prices.

The amount of money raised by taxes could be used to raise public awareness campaigns, educating people about the dangers of consuming such type of unhealthy food. The increased awareness about the harmful effects of junk food could discourage people of consuming such food in excessive amounts. For example, In the UK in 2016, many awareness campaigns were launched from the taxes levied from fast food joints, resulting in decreasing the sales of junk food by around 20 percent.

In conclusion, higher tariff should be imposed on junk food because that could increase the price of fast food and also help to raise public awareness programs.