Some cities ban private cars from entering the center and force people to use bicycles and bused. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages.

The entrance of personal motor vehicles is prohibited, in some cities, and individuals have only one option to use the bicycles or public transports like buses to commute. In my opinion, yes, the advantages of this policy outweigh its disadvantages. In further discussion, reasons in the support of its merits will be discussed.

firstly, banning the use of private cars inside cities would act in curbing pollution problems. On burning, the fuels such as petrol and diesel emit carbon-di-oxide, which is the major cause of air pollution and global warming. Hence, shifting to public transports like bus metro trains will reduce the number of vehicles on the road, as a result, lesser contamination in the air will take place. However, the bicycle will help to eliminate this problem to a greater extent. For instance, many cities in developed countries have banned diesel cars, and within a short period of time, a greater improvement in the air quality has been observed.

Secondly, with the greater number of cars and motorbikes, a major issue of traffic congestion and road accident has arisen. This difficulty would be easily eradicated if private vehicles are banned. Furthermore, road accidents are directly related to the number of automobiles. Moreover, in less congested situations, the use of bicycles will be easier. For example, in the recent lockdown, the road accident count decreased tremendously.

To conclude, the policy of banning private automobiles will provide more benefit as it helps to curb pollution and traffic issues by providing alternatives like buses and bicycles.