Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

In some companies, employees are required to wear uniforms every day, while it is not mandatory in other companies. Although wearing uniforms can promote the image of the organization effectively, I think it is neglecting the chance for employees to show their characteristics.

The main advantage of wearing uniforms is that it is likely to enhance the public image of the organization. It is considered a marketing strategy because it catches the attention of customers and makes them recognize the organization easier. For example, everyone is able to spot McDonald’s employees because we get used to the image of a member in his red uniform that the company has built. However, uniforms will limit the chances of employees to express themselves freely through a variety of outfits.

It cannot be denied that employees cannot express their own personalities through uniforms. The fact is that everyone has a different taste in fashion, and everyone is confident in their favorite clothes. If all employees wear the same clothes every day, it is difficult for them to show their styles and differences in the workplace. One interesting report from Google suggested that the company was able to build a diverse culture because it allowed employees to wear whatever they want and express themselves freely provided that they followed the policy. I believe when employees are more confident to wear favorite clothes, their performance will be boosted as well.

In conclusion, despite the fact that uniforms play an important role in building the public image of the company, it does not allow employees to display their characteristics. I believe uniforms should be worn 2 to 3 times a week instead of all working days