In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their level of health and fitness is decreasing. What are the causes and measure to overcome this trend.

Over the centuries, our world has witnessed copious innovations and advancements. But parallely, we are being threatened by the advent of new diseases and most of them directly rely on abnormal weight gain. While there are hefty reasons, the two major causes are the changes in eating habits and the lack of awareness about health among masses. We will discuss both and figure out some remedies.

While it is no denying that food the cure for may illnesses, it is also the cause for a lot of health issues. Street food have become extremely prevalent in many nations, which not only carries diseases, but also results in obesity and weight gain within a short span of time. This argument for instance is further defended by many researchers across the world. Adding to this, people in some countries are unaware of the necessity of fitness and well-being to lead a happy life. In a recent survey in India, it is found that only two percent of people in urban regions exercise regularly. So, major health problems like acute weight gain and diabetes possess direct correlation with deprived physical activity.

Moving to the possible solutions, there should be a co-operation between governments and people to impose a ban on street foods. In developing countries, where it would be extremely tedious to completely stop, regulations could be introduced to mitigate the ill-effects of roadside foods. For example, immense penalties could be levied on unhygienic fast food shops. Furthermore, compulsory education on health and lifestyle should be enforced into the school curriculum, so that the habit of exercising will be nourished from an early age. For instance, a lot of countries, have incorporated health studies in their early education syllabus. This could also be implemented by pedagogical experts in developing nations too.

On recapitulating, it is obvious that wrong diet and refraining from physical activities are the supreme reasons that exacerbates the problem of weight gain. Therefore, policies on junk and street foods should be undoubtedly revised. Not to mention, inculcating health related subjects in academic syllabus is also of immediate importance to abate the ignorance of future generations.