In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree

Fast food problems, A rate is significantly measured in a high trend in several countries, should be taken the highest consideration. Individual`s health is being affected by the huge consumption of the fast food; thus, it is believed that government should to apply additional taxes on it. I would agree with this notion, but it is not the root cause solution of the problem, and there are other effective actions can be maintained.

To begin with, high taxes on fast food products can assist to reduce number of people who used to consume such food. When government apply additional charges, certain level of community won’t afford to buy it and will rely on other resources of food, such as cooking themselves at home. For example, taxes played a pivotal role to reduce the number of smokers around the world, when some government imposed huge taxes on cigarettes. By then, some diseases rate is significantly plummeted due to quitting such habit.

On contrary, the increase in taxes is one of agreed ways to control these problems of fast food, but it puts a heavy pressure on the market and some businesses. Some companies will suffer from the applied taxes and will be forced to take some mitigation measures to reduce their cost and cope with the added charges by government on their imported material. For instance, thousands of employees lost their jobs in African market due to the sudden taxes applied on some factories. this had a detrimental impact on the countries economy.

To sum up, although the taxes can be the main factor to minimize the trend of junk food consumption, other measures can be applied by government to avoid this decision side effects. Laws and regulation on food quality can be implemented and to be monitored by the concerned council.