In some countries, most people prefer to rent their houses rather than buying them.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

House is one of the basic necessity of life however, it is not always possible for some to buy their own house. In some of the countries, mostly people live in rented houses due to one or the other reason. This essay explains the advantages and disadvantages of having a rented house.

The major advantages of living in rented flat is flexibility to move this means when we live in a house with certain lease period, we can move to different location once the lease is over. Many people prefer to live at rented apartments because they often move from one place to another due to their work. Another major benefit of being a tenant is better opportunities for example a middle class person can never afford to buy a bungalow near the beach with beautiful nature view but he can definitely rent it for a month or two, to experience that luxurious living. Additionally, one can switch the job to other city or state without much worry as he does not have a bound to sell his property.

However, renting a flat has several downsides as well. The primary disadvantage is living restrictedly, this means when we live in a rented flat, we are always remembered that this house is not ours we are guided with list of instructions and warnings each time we renew our lease. Along with that we cannot decorate, colour or live in a rented house just like our own house. Another major drawback is that it is a wastage of money as we will never own that property even though we pay rent for fifty years. In this competitive world, thousands of banks offer home loans with minimal rate of interest this means our one month installment nearly equals our rent amount and eventually the property belongs to us. In a research study conducted by Harvard University, it was found that on average your ten year's rent payment summed together equals the base amount for 3BHK apartment.

To conclude, living in rented apartment has its own advantages including flexibility to relocate and opportunities to live in a posh area. However, it also has some disadvantages such as liability in terms of recurring rent payment and lack of ownership feeling.