In some countries, the number of people who visit art galleries is declining. What are the reasons for this? How can we solve this problem?

In modern times, art galleries around the world are facing people’s neglect and apathy. Once considered a wise man possession and hobby, art is not associated with rich people only. This essay will discuss the reasons for the neglect and discover the possible solutions to increase the interest in art.

To begin with, art galleries today are in a pathetic state. The scenes of art lovers thronging the place and adorning the minute details of paintings for hours are thing of past. This dwindling number of art lovers can be attributed to increased interest in science and a busy routine. With science taking the center stage, the art has shifted to the background. Also, people today are living a busy life which hardly spares them any time to watch and adorn the beauty.

Moreover, apart from facing public apathy, the art galleries are also a victim of the government’s ignorance. The governments across the world hardly have any policy and budget for their revival and upkeep. Consequently, many of these galleries have failed to keep pace with the changing time.

There are numerous ways through which the fading art galleries can be revived. Firstly, Schools and colleges should help revive interest in art by adding a visit to these places in their curriculum. Secondly, the government should seek private intervention either as part of CSR activity to modernize these galleries and spend some amount on their marketing and publicity.

To conclude, there is a compelling need to restore and reinvent the art galleries. Though the solutions mentioned above are not a panacea to this problem, they can at least provide a start and set actions in motion. There is no time for us to be complacent and let it decline further. The history should be preserved and art is the best reflection of time.