Some people think that libraries are a waste of resources and money so computers should replace them. However, others do not agree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In the age of computers, it has become increasingly tough to sustain traditional methods of reading. The availability of a plethora of books on the internet has led people to believe that libraries are a waste of money and resources, while there are people who think otherwise. I strongly agree with later and this essay will elaborate on both views; followed by a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, the internet today provides easy access to information on the go. It lets you choose from thousands of available options. Moreover, the technological idea like ‘kindle’ allows you to select and read online at your own comfort. Consequently, this convenience has let people believe libraries as a waste of resources and money. However, everything that is available online cannot be trusted. Hence, online reading should be done under the guidance of the adults as much of the content is uncensored and sometimes spreads the propaganda.

However, the library is not only a place with the collection of books, but it is also a promoter of community reading. It allows people from all walks of life to gather and discuss over books. Therefore, it provides the opportunity for the people to bond over books. Furthermore, libraries help people to learn disciplined reading. The image of people reading in silent environments totally engrossed in their books tells us the importance of discipline while reading. Moreover, while prolonged exposure to computer screen has a negative effect on the eyes, reading through books have none.

In the end, I would say that though the charm of visiting the library is petering out, its importance cannot be denied. For first, it not only taught us reading but also taught us to read in discipline and with the community.