In some countries, people prefer to rent a house for accommodation, while in other countries people prefer to buy their own house. Does renting a house have more advantages or disadvantages than buying a house?

Renting a house or purchasing their own house is always a topic of discussion in many countries. This essay will discuss how the advantages of renting a house outweigh the drawbacks. The essay will first discuss the fact that living as a tenant is affordable and convenient, followed by the primary disadvantage that it does not give a feel of a home.

The main benefit of living on rent is that it does not cost much, especially for those who moved to other cities for work. This is because buying a house is not a piece of cake for everyone as it could be a huge financial burden for a lifetime. A recently published survey in Times Now indicates that 70 percent of workers living in metropolitan cities prefer to live on rent rather than buying own place as it is too expensive to afford for them. In addition to this, it is easy to rent accommodation near the workplace then possess own property. This results in a cut in travel time and expenses.

The disadvantage of living as a tenant is that it does not give peace and comfort of real homes. Many owners have their own rules and regulations which leaseholder has to follow, whether it is regarding make any change in house appearance or rent agreement. For instance, I too live in a rental home and I have to face many restrictions like no nonvegetarian food and alcohol is allowed in the house.

On balance, the pros of renting a place that it is cheap and convenient clearly outweigh the flaws that it doesn't provide freedom and comfort of own home.