In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In this modern era, there is an ongoing deliberation among people on having a ‘gap year’ between high school and university studies. Some people argue that the disadvantages overweigh the advantages, on my point of view this gap year give both advantages and disadvantages to students in their future life.

First and foremost, students can use this time either for studies or for travelling. For instance, students can use this time for relaxation and to experience the world while acquiring kowledge on different aspects. Apart from that, they can use this time to get ready to for their next endaveour because they may not have sufficient time to relax once they start studying. However, students can get used to the work environment and also get hand on experience if they start working during this period. At the same time, they can save some money for their future studies as well.

On the other hand, during the gap year, there is a possibility of losing interest on studies because they do not involve in studies on regular basis. In addition, if someone spend time on travelling and working others would continue their higher studies and enter into the job market earlier than them. Some students might forget the subject matters and they will feel isolated in their respective study area.

In conclusion, it is recommended students to take a break between high school and university because it gives more advantages to life. It is also believed, that students can acquire knowledge and experience duringthis time period which could be a definite benefit in their future life.