In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In this contemporary world of competitiveness, education as well as experience are considered to be most valuable assets a person possesses. These two are taken into consideration while getting appointed for a higher chair. While certain countries embrace its youngsters to work and travel for about one year after completing high school education but before opting tertiary level, others do not. This essay will discuss the positive as well as negative aspects of this method.

There are two advantages of getting a job before entering the university. Firstly, a year gap for work or travel may influence the career of a student to a greater extent because he or she gets a chance to earn some experience which may prove to be a plus point for them in future. For instance, most of the companies prefer to hire young people with experience than those of inexperienced. In addition, the student can invest the money gathered from this employment so that they might get able to continue his or her further studies as not all children are financially strong to continue their studies. Also, a single year exposure to the world can help the young-lings in enhancing their communication skills since they will get a chance interact with people from different regions of world. So, this process is advantageous to students in many ways.

However, there are many disadvantages linked to this procedure. Firstly, one year pause in education may decline their interest towards further study because when a person starts earning, only money rule his or her mind without understanding the importance of education. In addition, it can distract the minds of youngsters from being a noble person to a criminal one in order to earn more and more money by any means, whether it is legal or illegal, without any hesitation. Thus, numerous disadvantages can arise from a year gap between studies.

In conclusion, this essay discussed the benefits and drawbacks of providing one year gap between shifting from high school to university. However, in my opinion, its advantages outweigh the disadvantages because experience counts more.