In some cultures people give more value to old people while in other cultures people give more value to young people. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Across the world, there are diverse cultures and each culture is unique to itself. Some cultures regard older people as a valuable asset to their society and in contrast, some other cultures regard the younger generation as more valuable. In my opinion, I am inclined to the former view as I was taught from an early age to respect and value elders and it was part of my upbringing.

Undoubtedly, older people "have been there and done that" but the energy and enthusiasm of the younger generation cannot be overlooked. For instance, the world now needs a new energy vibe and diverse thinking to take us forward which is more commonly found in the youth. As everyone is aware that planet earth is facing a crisis due to environmental issues and we have run out of ideas on how to deal with this future epidemic. Everyone looks forward to the youth for their out-of-the-box thinking in tackling the problem and saving earth from destruction. The same energy level and thinking cannot be found in the older population.

Nevertheless, older people have gained high status in society and they are looked for advice. In nearly all cultures of the world, the older generation is viewed as the foundation pillars of society and children are taught to respect them from a very early age. It is very healthy that this needs to be followed as generations are replaced by the cycle of life and these values are carried forward. I believe, in the case of the younger generation, they learn a lot from older people and use that knowledge to excel in life.

Furthermore, the experience and wisdom cannot be overlooked which is found commonly in most of the older people. The older generation has lived the different phases of life and has gone through ups and downs. They have gained experience in taking right and wrong decisions and have thus gained wisdom from it. For example, if younger people are faced with a critical decision in life, many times they are not able to take the correct and appropriate decision and they have to look up to their elders who can think of many pros and cons and advice accordingly, which I think is of great value.

To conclude, in my opinion, there is no harm in valuing younger people for the energy and diverse thinking to take us forward but that cannot be done without the constant consultation and wisdom of older people.