In some cultures people give more value to old people while in other cultures people give more value to young people. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Across the world, there are diverse cultures and each culture is unique to itself. Some cultures regard older people as a valuable asset to their society and in contrast, some other cultures regard the younger generation as more valuable. In my opinion, I am inclined to the former view as I was taught from an early age to respect and value elders and it was part of my upbringing.

Undoubtedly, the energy and enthusiasm of the younger generation cannot be overlooked. For instance, the world now needs a new energy vibe and diverse thinking to take us forward which is more commonly found in the youth. Everyone looks towards the youth for their out-of-the-box thinking in tackling the environmental problems and saving earth from destruction. The same energy level and thinking cannot be found in the older population.

Nevertheless, older people have gained high status in society and they are looked with high esteem. In nearly all cultures of the world, the older generation is viewed as the foundation pillars of society and children are taught to respect them from a very early age. It is very healthy that this should be followed as generations are replaced in the cycle of life and these values are carried forward. I believe, in the case of the younger generation, they learn a lot from older people and use that knowledge to excel in life.

Furthermore, the experience and wisdom of the older people cannot be overlooked. The older generation has gone through the ups and downs of life. They have gained experience by taking right and wrong decisions and have thus gained wisdom from it. For example, if younger people are faced with a critical decision in life, many times they are not able to take the correct and appropriate decision and they have to look up to their elders who can think of many pros and cons and advice accordingly which I think is of great value.

To conclude, in my opinion, there is no harm in valuing younger people for the energy and diverse thinking to take us forward but that cannot be done without the constant consultation and wisdom of older people.