It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantage and disadvantages of this?

Taking a year break from studies after graduating from school is on the rise and many students are opting for it. In this gap year, students can travel and work to save money for university fee. This essay will discuss both merits and demerits of this trend.

On one hand, firstly, the major advantage of taking a year off is the learning of new culture and language by travelling abroad that can be helpful in future when entering into the practical life. For instance, my cousin travelled to Spain during his gap year and not only learn Spanish language but also get familiar with its culture, resulting in easily finding job in a Spanish company after graduating from a university. Secondly, university fee can be arrange by doing job. As a result, they will not only save money but also acquire new skills that will help in settling after finishing university. Therefore, taking a gap year between studies not only helps student to learn new cultures and languages but also save earning and gain new skills.

On the other hand, having a year off between studies can create problems for students and most notably, they lose focus on studies. That is, during the gap period, they become lazy and away from studies which results in losing the focus on studies ultimately they cannot able to cope with the studies pressure and dropout from university. For example, one of my friend, he took a year gap after school and when he rejoined studies, he cannot focus and quit university resulting in doing unskilled jobs for earning his lively hood. Another demerit of having a year off is that they might not find work and waste whole year doing nothing. So, a year off between studies is not only become a waste of time but also students might never get back to studies.

In conclusion, gap year between studies will enable students to learn new cultures, languages and skills, ultimately getting students ready for practical life but it also can make them loose interest in studies and leaving university without course completion.