Nowadays children prefer electronic games to other games and toys? Why is it happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this modern era, with the advancement in technology, the market is influx with electronic games which is attractive for children instead of traditional toys and also to parents as they are more worried about their kids than old generation. This development has not only risen the health issues among children but also affected significantly the family interaction. So, I believe that this has more disadvantages than merits.

On the first hand, I believe the parents are very possessive about children and wants to keep in front of their eyes all the times so, they encourage children to play with electronic games which results in keeping them going out with friends in malls or play grounds where they can be bullied by older kids. For instance, one of my cousin used to play in park with his friends but once he had been badly beaten by older kids just because they lose the game. Also, these games are more interesting than traditional toys because as the player increases his level he receive virtual gifts resulting in children preferring it. Therefore, by playing with gadgets, children not only can be saved from bullying by older kids but also these games are more intriguing and fun as they gets rewards by leveling up.

On the other hand, although because of aforementioned benefits of gadgets, the health issues are on the rise because of the harmful radiations emit from these electronic devices screens and doctors are recommending to parents to reduce this phenomenon. Also, there is less physical activity involved in these games, resulting in rise of obesity among children. Furthermore, nowadays, the children are glued to these electronic games even while taking meals that makes them less social, even the interaction with parents are minimal as it is depicted in the national survey also, in which great concerns are raised by the panel about less social society. So, playing with these games results in bad health and less social able society.

To conclude, albeit children will be protected from bullying and these games are more interesting as compared to playing with toys but it is badly effecting the children health and making them introvert. So, I think that this development is badly effecting our society and we are heading towards a less social society.