Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art, and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The studies are essentials in life for everyone. Nowadays, some educators believe that non-exam, artistic subjects, such as drama, music or other arts-based, should be mandatory in the secondary-school curriculum because they think that this kind of activities must increase academic performance.

I agree in parts with this affirmation because, obviously, the arts would improve creativity, imagination, sensibility, besides appreciation. But, on the other side, in my opinion, these subjects should be introduced since the first years in the school, in the primary-school, because will be in this stage of life that children will learn about principles and instructions will be more absorbed. In addition, I think that in the secondary-school the focus must be teaching subjects more specifics, such as mathematics, chemistry, geography or other types of subjects directed for preparatory towards entrance examination.

Teaching subjects connected to arts, the school may form people able to have a sensitive perception of images as well as decode good intentions and values represented in art. This kind of subject also is a moment with satisfaction and pleasure for permitting a routine break.

For example, my mother always telling me about her school subjects because she has subjects related arts and crafts, she narrates me that in the primary-school she has a home’s activities subject, the school subject that she learned about things to do in home as cooking, handcraft, singing lessons, inter alia.

In sum, art contributes like no other school subject because this is a way that involves freedom of expression, power analysis and inserting people in collective, while strengthens his individuality. To conclude, to my mind, arts-based disciplines must be inserted into the academic curriculum and preferentially in the first years in the school.