Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

In this era, managers prefer to contact their juniors at any time including vacations. I believe, demerits such as less efficiency and health issues are the more significant than few minor merits.

On one hand, the main benefit of employee availability in sectors such as hospitals is that in case of emergency the hospital can contact off duty doctors who can save lives. Furthermore, the availability of employees in facility management area is also crucial that is, if a lift breakdown in the night then security can call on the emergency number and the issue can be solved. For example, in my building couple of months ago, the lift breakdown at two o’clock in the morning. The security called the lift contractor and they manage to rectify the problem. Therefore, the availability of staff at all time cannot only save lives but also rectify problems related to specific field.

On the other hand, although, because of aforementioned benefits, the disadvantages of this is far more than some minor advantages. Firstly, the main problem related to this is the health of an employee. If he works all the time without having any proper break or relax time then he will not only suffer from anxiety but also less sleep and diseases like migraine resulting in employee taking sick leaves and will look for other job. Secondly, this development will made employees less efficient. They will take more time in finishing tasks than normally required. For example, during summers in our company, whenever the H.V.A.C technicians worked late in the night rectifying the A/Cs problems, the next day, they are attending less complaints resulting in the increase in the pending works. So, having employees available all the time will lead to less efficiency and health problems among them.

In conclusion, the major disadvantage of having employees working during holidays or after work hours is not only the health problems but also the work efficiency will become low.

Therefore, I believe that staff who are working during day time should not be contacted to do overtime. Also, the employer should arrange another team who can be contacted in case of emergencies.