Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Acquiring a foreign language has become a trendy matter nowadays. Numerous education professionals have claimed that the best place to start learning a new language is at primary schools not later. This essay aims to explore the advantages and disadvantages of such a debatable issue in further detail and before coming to a conclusion.

To begin with, there is no doubt that pupils in early ages have the ability to learn many skills and languages faster than others in later period. Firstly, a plethora of studies have shown that children between 4 and 9 years old have a higher ability to learn up to 3 different languages more than older peers. Since, there is an inverse relationship between the age of the brain and the ability to obtain more skills. To put simply, the more brain age the less capabilities to acquire new languages and skills. Secondly, children at the first three years has no complex subjects and few topics to study. Therefore, they have more time to focus in learning a new language.

On the flip side, teaching different languages in early ages might create some few problems for children. First of all, pupils at early ages might get confused when learning a new language rather than the original language that their families communicate. This in fact impacts on students’ life, as, it produces a conspicuous gap between them and their families. In consequently, they might prefer the new language more than their native one and start communicate only through it. For example, in my country Syria, lots of new schools offer an english curriculum only. This unfortunately might contribute in replacing the original language into another new language.

To sum up, Although studying a new language might initiate some confusions for students at early ages, I wholeheartedly believe that the positive impacts outweigh the disadvantages.