Some governments believe it is necessary to impose a higher tax on junk food because an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much of this type of food. What do you think about this?

As consumption of sugar, fat and salt increases, rates of related illnesses such as diabetes, heart disease, and stroke are also on the rise. In order to tackle this problem, some argue that the government should levy a tariff on junk food. This essay will discuss why I firmly believe that a higher rate of tax should be paid by companies that provide the public with fast, but unhealthy food.

Firstly raising taxes means the government has more to spend on public services like healthcare and education. This has been in the case with taxes from alcohol and tobacco products in many countries. In the UK, for example, tax from the cigarettes is used to treat patients with smoking-related diseases such as lung cancer, as well as to fund advertising campaigns to deter smokers. Tax from fast food could be used by the government in the same way both to supplement healthcare and to discourage consumption.

Furthermore, on a practical level, this initiative would reduce the consumption of junk food and increase that of healthy products. This is simply because increasing taxes would raise prices. If, for instance, a big mac cost 10 dollars rather than 3 dollars, few people would see it as an attractive option. Junk food would soon become a luxury item only to be consumed occasionally and therefore less harmful to the health of the general public.

In conclusion, poor food choices are having a detrimental impact on public health. An increase in the tax on junk food is a good idea not only because of the good precedent set by alcohol and tobacco, but also the fact that it would reduce the amount of fast food that most people can afford to buy.