Some offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is generally seen that having realised from jail the criminals commit more crime. This essay will elaborate all the reasons behind this phenomenon and suggest some solutions to solve this problem.

First and foremost reason of committing more crime is that jails are the universities of the crime. The offenders who has got imprisonment due to minor crime are mixed with hard core criminals and learn the new moudus operandi of crime from them. The latest research has revealed that jails increase the tendency of committing crime by 30% of culprits . The second vivid reason is that after coming out of bars people do not accept them and also do not hire them as they have stigma of serving the pusishment in jail.. For instance one software engineering could not get job for two years as he has history of spending two years in jail. When they cannot get their livelihood then they often resort to unscrupulous activities.

There are many solutions which can be implemented to solve this problem. Firstly the hard core criminal should not be mixed with petty criminals. These criminals teach them the new method of crime and encourage them to commit more crime by telling criminal experiences. Secondly, instead of giving jail to minor criminals the vocational training should be provided so that they can start their own work even if the society does not accept them. The vocational training plays a significance role to rehabilitate the offenders as per the latest research . Thirdly ,there should be rigorous punishment even for small crime so that it can deter them from committing crime

In conclusion, there are plethora of reason to prove why criminals do more crime after serving sentence such as keeping together all type of criminal in jail and callous nature of society toward criminals. Vocational can be fruitful to solve this problem in large extent.