Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of time for children and they think that their children should only read serious educational books.What is your opinion?

Reading is a profound routine which elevates the general knowledge of any individual. However some parents think that its a waste of time, when their children read through a comic or other novels, and believe that they should be reading only academic related books. It is agreed that reading educational materials gives, good grip on their academics, at the same time leisure time reading also provide them with other extra curricular wisdom. This essay discusses the merits of reading for entertainment and also analyses the impact of reading only for educational purposes, followed by a conclusion with a reason.

To being with, when a child spends time in reading a story book or novel, one should see that as an act of learning new vocabulary or enhancing their language. A comic comes with variety of imaginable situations or scenarios which makes them interesting to read, and in turn that enables the child to have a good reach of thinking beyond the text books. For example, a recent survey from an anonymous organization reports that children spending more time on comics tend to have more IQ than the rest.

On the other hand, in the modern society academics plays a major role and hence, reading an educational books become a mandate. However, most of the time school books comes with limited set of words, which is enough to explain a concept or a technical aspect. Moreover, the educational materials do not have any practical application in the real life and that makes them less interesting. For instance, there is no direct implication of a mathematical formula at any point of time in our life, which we have learned in our school.

In my opinion, reading has become a rare phenomenon in this contemporary world, with the introduction of lot of technologies to assist in studying. Having said that, if a child spends a considerable amount of time skimming through a book, it certainly shows their passion for the language and reading. So I strongly suggest or believe that if children are investing their time in reading books, it should be appreciated and encouraged, irrespective of the content or the journal. This act will not only enable them to develop their language but also guide them in the right path and set a content for future.