some parents believe that reading entertainment books is a waste of children’s time. They think that their children should read-only serious educational books. What is your opinion?

Books help individual to broaden the horizons of his or her knowledge. It is commonly believed that parents want their children to only read course-related books as they will improve their grades. While some think that juvenile should read books according to their interests. I disagree with such viewpoint and believe that both entertainment and educational books are important to increase child’s knowledge regarding various aspects of life.

To begin with, enjoyable books can be a key factor for children’s mental growth. Toddler and school children who read according to their interest have a large vocabulary and wider knowledge. Reading books of different genres helps children get to know their field of interest. To illustrate, painting and coloring books can develop a child’s interest in arts and other creative fields. When children read novels, short stories or fiction, it assists them to enhance imagination power and creative skills. Hence, children will get valuable life lessons if they read regularly as they will not be restricted with limited knowledge related to the syllabus.

On the other hand, some parents think the children should be motivated to read-only educational books and not comic and fiction, which are not worth their time. With growing competition worldwide, guardians want the best for their infants. Therefore, they encourage them to read-only academic books which is beneficial for their career advancement. For example, children who love to read mathematics books can usually master Olympics mathematics, which is a bonus when applying a demanding academic institution. From the parent’s point of view, books related to the curriculum helps children fetch a higher score thereby securing their future.

To conclude, reading enhance an infant’s memory and assist them to improve their concentration level and develop the overall personality. Curriculum books are useful for developing offspring’s intelligence and study skills whereas entertainment books help in their imagination and overall development. Therefore, I think both kind of book plays pivotal roles for children’s development.