Some parents believe that watching TV and playing computer games should be limited and substituted by reading books. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

The debate whether reading books is more beneficial than watching tv and playing computer games has been a popular topic of discussion among guardians for ages. I personally support the former option when compared with the latter. In the following paragraphs, I will put forth the reasons for my opinion.

To begin with, reading books have several benefits. It aids in the psychological development of the mind by improving concentration and focus. The description in stories will stimulate the imagination power. In addition, children will be able to gather more knowledge that will be helpful for their studies. Moreover, reading acts as a form of relaxation. For example, a child can learn new words which further enhances their vocabulary and will help them score better results in their academics.

However, the preference of watching tv and playing games is also understandable. As children have to study, they remain glued to the books most of the time. Hence, reading books as a form of recreation does not inspire them whereas the colorful graphics of the ads and computer games attract them. But this eventually leads them to become more distracted. They may also be tempted to carry out actions they see which could be quite dangerous if they are not around elders. The flashy ads and games also have an impact on their vision, causing them to wear glasses from an early age.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that reading books can help children learn new information whereas watching tv and playing games will do more harm than good. These will eventually become a reason for distraction and affect their vision.