Some parents believe that watching TV and playing computer games should be limited and substituted by reading books. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

In the contemporary society, with changing times the way by which a child learns new things have changed. Although guardians emphasise that reading books will be more beneficial for their children rather than watching tv or playing computer games, I firmly disagree with the notion. In the following paragraphs, I will put forth the reasons for my opinion.

To begin with, tv programs designed for kids have become more creative and interesting. There are several shows that telecast science experiments, fun games and dance performance which effectively grasps a child’s attention. As a result, they tend to watch these very attentively and remember them long after the show has ended.

Moreover, there are several games that also facilitate further enhancement of their learning abilities. Playing complex games requires a lot of attention to the settings and controls which is mandatory to gain a win. In addition, through games they are able to interact with people from different places which further enhance their communication skills.

However, these can prove to become overwhelming and lead them astray. For example, the fight scenes in a competition or games that are not meant for children under certain age. Furthermore, long-term staring at the screen many impair their vision at an early age. But with proper guidance from the parents these problems can be overcome. Also, as children have to study all day, reading books for recreational purpose feels monotonous to them and thus fail to attract any attention.

To conclude, I would like to reiterate that watching tv and playing games now play a bigger role in encouraging the children to learn new things whereas books fail to attract their attention. Therefore, parents should not restrict gaining know to simply reading books rather they should support and guide them in the right direction.