Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with.What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experien

Toys represent a significant part of a child’s early life and is memorable stage throughout their life. Fathers and Mothers shower their young ones with vast number of toys. There is both positive and negative outcomes to this.

One primary advantage with having a huge number of toys for a child is a good mental and brain development. A child starts on characterizing different toys at a very tender and early age. This period is crucial stage in a child’s life where early development starts. This exercises the brain when a child learns about various aspects of toys and their purpose. This develops associativity to things, which is the foundation for sound reasoning in later part of the life and also further enhances creativeness in adult life. In a survey done in 2010, Spain, which compared children with and without toys, it was learn’t that children with toys were fast and adaptive learners in primary grade.

The main drawback of this results in children with less social skills. They get cut off from other kids when they are only focussed and surrounded by toys. This leads to imbalanced behavior towards other children socially. Learning social etiquette at a young age results in development understanding and compassion towards other kids. This is an important quality in an adult life where they become a part of society and leads to successful establishment of personal life. From a survey done in 1996 in Harward university, it was found that children with focuss only on toys lacked sharing ability towards other kids. This lead to limited development of social understanding towards other children.

Toys are important part of a child’s life helping in critical development of mind but with careful moderation and encouraging towards other activities like joining a sports team or becoming a part of play group will absolutely avoid social akwardness and develop compassion towards other children.