Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with.

What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Toys plays a vital role in juvenile entertainment, where some kids are blessed to acquire an abundance of toys to play with. Although such entertainment brings self-esteem and independence to one’s behavior while triggering the risk of spoiling his character.

One obvious advantage of equipping a kid with huge number of toys is to enhance the character of their offspring by the versatility present in them. Such versatility brings wide sense of adoption of surrounding environment by interacting with such wonderful toys. In addition, it is considered one of the best ways to keep children busy which eventually gives time to parents to carry with their own chores. For instance, one study by The News states that the children who gets a chance to play with big number of toys develop self-esteem and are often seen more independent.

However, it is a common saying that everything comes with a price and unfortunately it applies to abundance of toys as well. One of the downsides is that, it potentially can sabotage the character of a kid by making him spoiled, since everything would be readily available to the kid without mere effort. It can impact their life, where a kid will be grown into a grumpy adult and he will be difficult to handle whenever his request is denied. For example, BBC reports that 60% of juvenile who enjoys number of toys have serious negative impacts on their character-building including rudeness and bad temper.

In conclusion, parents who purchase huge number of toys for their off springs not only affect their behavior in a positive way but also pose a threat to their development phase, which could be quite critical in their later life.