Some people are fond of buying new gadgets, phones, or laptops. Is this a good or bad thing? Discuss your opinion.

Technology has changed the priorities of people. Many individuals like to stay purchase newly launched hi-tech gadgets. In my opinion, staying updated with upgraded innovations is important but it can cause a lot of issues to the environment.

First, People nowadays are very fond of changing their tech appliances every year. Due to technology improvement and enhancement new upgraded versions are being launched in different devices very frequently. Some people consider it as their social status to keep the trendy new launched phones, laptops and other such gadgets. For instance, one of my friends changed her mobile phone as soon as new iPhone x was launched; Although, she bought her iPhone 8 just a few months back; She did this just to show people that she is the one who bought it on the first place in our friend circle.

Next, Technology is harming our environment majorly. Although, different Tech stuffs are being designed to work properly for a longer period like usually phones work best for 3 years, laptops for almost 10 years and so on. But mostly people use their phones for just a year and then they are of no use and they throw them away. All these scenarios lead to a high amount of unused gadget discarded as garbage even before the are expired. For example, Lithium batteries can work as explosive at a high temperature and aluminium can erode the soil in the land and make it infertile, effecting nature badly.

In conclusion, I would like to say that excessive discard of old gadgets will lead to major environmental issues. So buying new appliances without requirement is not a beneficial decision for the humankind.