Some people argue that capital punishment is good for a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that the death penalty benefits a nation. I completely agree with this statement. Because, it is an effective means to reduce crime, and less money would spend on jail sector as well as society would be more safer. However, it sometimes goes wrong.

The most significant plus point of the highest punishment is that it is an effective deterrent to serious crime. This is because, it instils fear of carrying out serious crimes as people would not want to lose their life as a result of that. For example, people who are thinking of murder or committing violent acts will think hundred times before doing so. As a result of this policy, crime rate would go down.

Another compelling reason is that the cost of jail would be reduced. When a criminal caught after committing a crime, he have to taken into a prison to give sentence. The expenditure of his jail life such as food, clothing, and accommodation have to be provided through jail authorities and those money comes from government. If a criminal punished for his entire life, the cost of his prison life have to be given by government. Nonetheless, provided that the punishment of the offenders is death, the government would not have to pay for his living. As a result, this should reduce the cost of imprisonment gradually.

On the other hand, sometimes the capital punishment might go wrong. In some cases, it is noticeable that the punishment go for wrong person who are not involved in any crime. For example, in the last year, the supreme court of Bangladesh declared death punishment for three criminals, where one of the accused criminal have not done anything. Consequently, the family of the victim suffer from and without doing nothing a life went away.

To conclude, I agree that the death punishment is better for a region as it is a measure of reducing crime and saving expenditure of government. Nonetheless, it may cause harm for family to punishing wrong person.