Some people believe that to be successful at a sport you need a natural ability and others think that hard work and practice can make you successful. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Although many people think that natural talent is the most crucial element to succeed in a particular sport, I would argue that practice and constant exercise are the key factors to excel.

Those who believe that an individual’s natural ability is the number one factor which can make you a winner, hold this view for several reasons. First of all, being naturally keen and eligible to engage in a specific sport is essential in order to facilitate an individual’s practice. For instant, only those who have a natural talent can easily and quickly achieve great results. Furthermore, a person who does not have a genuine interest and who is not incline toward a particular sport cannot secure feasible and achievable goals. These individuals might struggle to succeed and therefore they will experience feelings of frustration and demotivation.

Nevertheless, I strongly believe that high motivation and frequent practice are more important elements. To begin with, being highly motivated and exercising constantly are pivotal factors which can bring great results even although an individual does not possess a natural talent. For example, a girl I know who was not capable of playing tennis, after having attended several lessons clearly demonstrated an improvement. In addition to this, working hard and making efforts are always required to improve and enhance an individual’s abilities. This means that, although a person might not be good in a sport at first, working on their exercise and technique can greatly make the difference and enable them to reach a high level.

To conclude, I am of the opinion that natural talent is a beneficial factor to excel in a sport, however determination, perseverance and practice are the essential and crucial elements which can guarantee an individual’s success.