Some people believe that eventually all jobs will be done by artificially intelligent robots. what is your opinion?

Some people share the view that artificially intelligent robots will be doing jobs eventually. With the astonishing advancements in technology over the last two decades, I am of the opinion that artificially intelligent robots will be doing most jobs originally done by humans sooner or later. However, the keyword is 'most' as there are some jobs that will always require the 'human touch'. This essay will discuss why artificially intelligent robots may take over most human jobs in coming years but not all of them.

As technology continues to evolve, routine jobs that do not necessarily require any human interaction are increasingly being eliminated with people being replaced by machines. The rationale for this is the achievement of greater efficiency by eliminating human error which in turn reduces costs. Increasing labor costs in some developed countries has also caused many business owners to employ the use of the robots instead of humans. For instance, due to the increase in the minimum wage rate in America. Some American fast food businesses now utilize robots in their service areas to reduce labor costs and facilitate efficiency. In service industries similar to the fast food industry where the day to day activities involve largely menial jobs, artificial intelligence could be highly useful, maybe even a necessity.

Although the benefits of replacing mundane human jobs with robots are clear, the same cannot be said for jobs that require human contact, skill or competence. Removing the human element from such jobs would mean eliminating the service altogether. Art related jobs, for example, will always require a human being, an artist, because art lives in the minds of people. Some jobs by their nature can only be done by people.

Ultimately, many organisations will recognise the benefits of using artificial intelligent robots for non-technical, routine jobs and employ them. However, more complex roles will always be done by people.