university students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

Many university students now go abroad to study, as part of their study programs. It is a great way for students way for students to learn about other cultures. However, there are often high costs associated with going to another country to obtain a degree. In my opinion, the advantages of studying abroad greatly outweigh the disadvantages despite the challenges that students might face in the duration of their study.

While studying abroad, the learning experiences are not confined to the classroom. The process of cultural integration when in a foreign country exposes the students to a whole new way of life. This exposure often facilitates their personal growth and gives the student skills that will be useful for his or her career in future. To illustrate, when I studied in Cyprus I learned how to work smart and not hard. The Cypriots live very relaxed lives but still get all their work done in time. Gaining valuable lessons from a foreign culture is the main benefit of studying abroad.

Although the benefits of studying abroad cannot be denied. The high costs associated with it keep a lot of students from enjoying these benefits. This is because studying abroad has high accompanying costs that a student would not have incurred if they studied in their own country. For instance, when I studied in Cyprus, I had to buy expensive flight tickets to travel home every summer. When aggregated, the total cost of my air travel during my stay in Cyprus would have paid for two years worth of study if I chose to study in my country.

In conclusion, studying abroad has become a trend among university students. Despite the high costs associated with the choice, the greatest benefit stems from the lifelong lessons that can be gained from integrating into a foreign culture.