Some people believe that the government has the duty to ensure its citizens have a healthy diet, while others believe it is the individual's responsibility. Discuss both views and provide your opinion.

Opinions differ as to whether the government or people themselves should be responsible to maintain a healthy diet every day. While I think that individuals should take control of their diet, I will discuss the reasons for both sides of the argument.

It is understandable to say that it is the government’s job to ensure a better diet for citizens. Today, a change in the busy lifestyle has created a huge demand for fast food products. This opens an enormous opportunity for large enterprises to enter this profitable market. Hence, only the government has the power to restrict these companies from mass producing fast food and subsequently force consumers to buy healthier products. In Vietnam, for example, since the imposition of higher taxes on fat and pre-cooked products by Congress, Vietnamese citizens now turn to buy more organic and fresh ingredients with cheaper prices to self-cook.

However, individuals should control the balance of their meals as no organizations can manipulate their personal choices of foods. Even when there is a high tax levied, people will still buy fast foods if they cannot resist the delicious tastes. For instance, Koreans still consume a substantial amount of liquor in dinners even after the government’s attempts to increase prices and reduce import. Therefore, it is up to individuals to make sure they eat healthily.

Personally, I side with the latter idea because of one reason. Companies will eventually find a way to lower the cost of production for their customers. Burger King is one example, this burger brand has been continually upgrading its producing process at extremely low expenses.

In conclusion, while the government has the authority and resource to partly intervene with citizens’s diet, it is solely individual’s responsibility to ensure a balance of their daily meals.