Some people believe that government should take care of old people and provide financial support after they retire Others say individual should save during their working years to fund their own retirement What is your opinion Give reasons for your answer

It is a highly debatable and sensitive issue of society, whether government should look after the retired population or they should have individual funds to fulfill their needs. Many political parties even promise to provide retirement allowances. However, I believe that any government can not manage to provide financial help to such a diverse old demographic and everyone should have sufficient savings to take care of themselves.

There are myriad arguments that why the government should not take care of its public, even after completion of their job tenure. And primary one is that there is huge diversity in lifestyle and requirements of everyone. Therefore any government can neither provide financial help based on old people’s necessity nor can give a fixed amount to everyone regardless of their necessity because that will be unfair to those who worked with high skills yet receive the same allowance as a lower skilled person. For instance, any countries with a high population, like India, have wide bands of all demographics. Such countries are already making efforts to run the economy the best way for better opportunities for their youth, who will generate revenue for the country. If such countries start taking care of elders, then it will be additional burden to the economy.

On the other hand, primarily, everyone has a different pay scale based on their skill set in today’s cutthroat competition. Moreover, there are more private job opportunities compared to government jobs. This leads to the immense scope of improvement for all the individuals and they can bring up their salary. As a result, it’s now an individual’s choice on their expense and savings portion of the salary. For example, based on consideration of future expenses and requirements, one can save more from their salary and can help themselves in the future. However, Government can help the public by providing expert advice on how and what portion of a salary should be saved. Additionally, government can deduct a minor portion of one’s salary and return it when he retires in the form of pensions, of course, which will be one’s individual wealth only.

Based on the aforementioned arguments, it’s clear that if anyone manages his finance smartly, he can take care of himself in the forthcoming time. Furthermore, it will be in the interest of a nation as well as the national government can utilize the retirement allowance for better constructive purposes.