Some people believe that if people are allowed to work after the age of 60, it could cause problems. Do you agree and disagree?

It is commonly believed that there could be concerns if the elderly people is permitted to continue to job after attaining retirement age. In my opinion, I am partially agreed with this notion that a person should be allowed to work after the age of 60.

On the one side, delaying retirement enable individuals to contribute actively to the society. On a personal level, working past retirement age provides an avenue for individuals to remain not only physically but mentally active. Moreover, this option empowers the aging population to be financially independent and economically self-sustained past retirement age. In countries such as India, for instance, citizens are given an option to work beyond their existing retirement age based on the demand for their job and their capabilities to handle these tasks. Hence working beyond past retirement age empowers workers, ensure economic growth of the nation and alleviate the challenges faced by aging people.

On the other hand, working beyond retirement age may result in adverse health impacts on workers and a decrease in productivity levels. In Japan, the suicide rates have gradually increase due to rising stress level at work faced by the older people who are pushed beyond their optimal work capacity. Besides this, increasing stress levels from work lead to various health complications putting a strain on the healthcare system. Hence, working beyond retirement age worsen the overall welfare of personals and adversely impact the economy.

To conclude, though working beyond advancing years may impose health hazards leading to reduction in productivity, it seems to me that the benefits outweigh the demerits. In my opinion, the firms and organizations should actively involve their workers to be productive beyond their retirement age.