Some people believe that increasing tax on various industries will reduce pollution whereas others believe that there are better alternative ways.

Discuss both the view and give your opinion.

Nowadays, rapidly increasing pollution is an acute topic of discussion for our society. There is an opinion that imposing more taxes on industry sectors of the economy will improve the ecological situation. Meanwhile, there are those who consider that it would be better to implement more effective methods. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the argument and give my own opinion on the matter.

On one hand, it seems like a great idea to raise the tax burden on factories with severe environmental footprint such as fertilizer or other chemical plants, plastics factories, etc. Thus, it hopefully will lead to decline in production and additionally, received tax funds could be used for various cleaning measures of the environment. For example, to allocate finances to production of oil spills removal equipment or litter collecting robots.

Nevertheless, some people assure that there are better ways to tackle the issue. First, the government could oblige factories to use less harmful chemicals in their production, apply high tech cleaning filters for fumes and high-tech closed loop production as well. Consequently, less emission of pollutants will be released into the atmosphere, hydrosphere and soils. In addition, the dumping of toxic waste by factories should be strictly forbidden and bring along a punishment from significant fines till imprisonment of persons in charge of it. It will play a role of a deterrent and reduce the pollutant input from toxic waste.

I

n conclusion, both sides of the argument have their merits. On balance, however, I believe that preventive measures are more important than the later attempts to solve environmental problems. That is why, I support those who consider higher taxes are not able to resolve the issue completely and there are more effective ways to solve it.