In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn.

Some individuals in a country have income far beyond the average, due to this, some people have an opinion that the government should regulate level of income that citizens can have. Meanwhile, others argue that opportunity to earn huge salaries is positive for the economy of a country.

Supporters of the idea of limitation of a revenue of workers would probably refer to the fact that economic inequality usually leads to the social differentiation and existence of extremely high paychecks among some means that there are people who live below income poverty line. Thus, in this kind society, middle and rich classes are small groups of people only, the biggest part is poor ones. As a result, the poor get poorer while the rich get richer, that is harmful for the economy of a country in a whole. In addition, level and quality of life of habitants is decreasing rapidly, social tension is growing, crime rates are increasing.

However, some economists claim that economic inequality is beneficial overall for stimulating growth and is merely a necessary part of social progress. First, incentives are greater for innovation and entrepreneurship when inequality is pronounced. Large salaried executive positions, for example, create an incentive for lower paid workers to win coveted labor positions. The less-wealthy members of a society work harder, create new businesses, or invent new products to become a member of the highest income group. On the other hand, when the gap between income levels is small, those in lower income groups have less of an incentive to move up in income.

In conclusion, both sides of the argument have their merits, on balance, however I think that economic in equality means that often people are trapped in poverty with little chance to climb up the social ladder.