Some people believe that old public buildings in cities should be restored while others say that they should be demolished and new buildings should be built instead. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some people would argue that old structures in cities should be replaced with new modern structure, while others argue that they should be repaired. This essay will argue that despite the fact that the cost of refurbishing is very high, I believe they have cultural and historical significance.

On the one hand, the cost of repairing of museums and palaces are very high. A lot of funds is required in restoration because the buildings are embodied and decorated with stones and gems and getting it to its original state is a time-consuming process. For example, the United Kingdom government has spent a whopping 110 million USD in repairing the 177 years old Big Ben clock in London. However, I believe demolishing of any old buildings would lead to a monumental loss.

On the other hand, historical buildings are part of a country’s heritage. The tower structures have an important function in history, and some are even the nation’s pride. Architects studies to understand how such complex structures were made without any use of modern equipment’s by the masons and still standout to be architectural marvels. For instance, one of the sections of Uday Palace in Udaipur is being currently used by the government as a resort for foreign tourist, while remaining sections of the palace are dedicated as a museum showcasing the artifacts and clothes of the rulers. I believe demolition of it would make the upcoming generation clueless about the past.

In conclusion, although the major drawback is the expenditure to be incurred on the restoration of the old buildings. In my opinion, it is important to keep them intact and maintain it for future generations.