Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion.

Some people would argue that zoos help to preserve wild creatures, while others argue that they are inhumane and should be abolished. This essay will argue that despite the fact that zoological park space is not sufficient, I believe it plays a pivotal role in the breeding of endangered species so it should not be shut.

On the one hand, zoos cannot provide the space that animals have in the wild. In other words, the cage area where the captive animals are kept are smaller in size, which has negative and devasting effect on their emotional wellbeing. For example, as per a research conducted by Indiana Zoo, Polar bears are the most affected animal when kept in a closed enclosure. They display symptoms of abnormal behaviour like permanently shaking their hands. However, I believe zoos are the best place to keep the animals that are under extinction.

On the other hand, breeding programs play an important role in repopulating the animals, which are nearly extinct. Scientists conduct various researches to understand their behaviour, eating habits, reaction to stress before doing the breeding process. For instance, a captive propagation program was launched in Brazil in the year 2000 to protect the golden lion tamarin and the within the span of 5 years their population has increased from 30 to 300. I believe it helps to increase their count, which is crucial to maintain balance in the ecosystem.

In conclusion, although the major drawback for zoo is their size, in my opinion, the captive breeding program plays a significant role in protecting the wild creatures at risk.