Some people believe that only employees who have worked at a company for a long time deserve to be promoted to a higher position. What is your opinion about this?

Career promotions to higher positions in their company hierarchy are expected by anyone as a human being. However, some people believe that, higher positions are deserved by the employees who have worked for a long time for the company. But in my opinion, promotions should be based on the true capabilities and potential to align with company strategies, instead of mere long term experience within the company.

To begin with, work experience can definitely create maturity in a subject area. Long term working in same place enables more understanding on the business and the teammates, who are working within the divisions and cross divisions. However, with the time and personal responsibilities, these people like to play in comfortable zone and can negatively influence the attitudes of the others such as direct subordinates. For example, due to the reluctant to change the current practices, people will trend to float on same boat rather than accepting new responsibilities or adapting to new processes or systems.

On the other hand, creativity and the energy is abundant in young blood. Therefore, they can bring innovative ideas thinking out of the box and are able to lead new concepts actively. Further, people who have a wide range of experiences with different company’s and cultures can provide novel inputs and insights to improve the business processes. For example, a person who have worked for a multinational company might have been exposed to advanced work processes than who are continuously working in a local company. Consequently, new faces not only can have potential on productivity improvement, but also introduce competitions among the other for individual improvements.

Considering above factors, long time experience in the same place can not prove to significantly impact a business success. Instead, capabilities and leadership potential within the employees are to be taken into account for the promotions to have a sustainable business development.