Some people believe that parents should teach their children about money matters. What are the best ways to teach a child about money, in your opinion? Give some examples from your own experience.

In today’s world, wealth has a prominent role in one’s life; therefore, some part of the society think that the offspring should be taught regarding money by parents. In the present essay, a few helpful methods in this endeavor are enlisted.

First and foremost, parents should give their children monthly allowance to teach them how to manage money. If children receive their allowance on monthly basis, they learn to be thrifty and not to spend it all at once. For instance, I was never given money when I wanted to buy something, instead, I had to hold on to the sum that I had till it was necessary to spend it.

Another beneficial way is to punish children for unnecessary expenditure, which teaches them how to spend their money wisely. Children should be taught that money should not be spent on extravagance. The best way is to discourage them with mild punishments such as cutting their play time or their access to some of their belongings.

Last but not least, rewarding children with money when they have constructive behavior. When children are behaving in a helpful manner such as helping with the chores and running errands, they should be rewarded with money so they learn that money is earned by being responsible for completing tasks. Moreover, encouraging children to take on part-time job during school break is highly beneficial because they learn money is merited through hard work.

All in all, there are a plethora of methods to teach children about money. Based on the explanation above, I believe the most beneficial ones are giving a monthly allowance, punishment for spending on unnecessary luxuries, reward them with money when they are helpful around the house and encouraging children to take on a part-time job.