Some People believe the people have the right to university education, and government should make it free no matter what their financial background. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

All people have the right to education. However, not everyone may come from a wealthy background and hence, many decide to drop off from college as they are unable to bear the expenses. Although, it is the duty of the government to ensure that all their citizens are educated, some believe the only solution it is provide free university education to all. In my opinion, I completely adhere that irrespective of their financial status, all should receive equal treatment and similar education as this will encourage people to study in their home country rather than go abroad.

To begin with, those who study free or receive aid from the government are ridiculed by their classmates and termed as "freeloaders". Free education will create a common level, thereby reducing the disparity in the classroom. In addition, all children until the age of 21 will receive formal education and the drop out rate would be drastically reduced. According to a recently recorded survey, an alarming 78% of school drop outs felt that if universities offered free learning, it would reduce the financial burden on their parents and they could complete their education. Government should invest more in the education sector as they are the foundation and future of the economy.

Furthermore, it is the norm for students to go abroad as they are of the notion that if they pay more they will receive better education. In such scenarios, if they receive, international standard education in their home country many will prefer to study and work here, consequently, contributing to an increase in the economic health of the country. This will prevent drainage of human resources and prevent national talent.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that free education is not only beneficial to the individual but also to the government as they can maintain a balance in society. Once, passed out from college everyone is free to pursue their individual dreams, albeit they all have a common education background