Some people believe that preserving natural environment is crucial. However, most make no effort to do so. Why do you think this is happening? What are some actions that could help the environment?

The essential need to sustain and retain our natural space, in which we live in, is paramount. While some people appreciate this fact, the practicability of it, in our society today, is quite questionable. Overtime, there have been various dangers that threaten the preservation of our environment, some of which are caused by increase in population; and to an extent, ignorance.

There is no doubt that, each year the population of the world increases, arithmetically, from previous year. The number of people in planet earth is on the rise; there is unprecedented inclination in the number of populated cities, and rustic areas are not spared as well. Consequently, there have been need for expansion - housing facilities, welfare centres, industries and educational institutions need to be built. To keep up with this demand, natural reserves and forests are encroached into to provide space for intending structures and facilities. The trees are required of their firm stems and branches for timber and plywood to construct. To this end, the forest reserves deplete on the altar of human growth. Another reason the natural reserves are effortlessly stripped - off and endangered is down to the dearth in awareness. For instance, in developing countries, no commitment is made to informing the people on the need to plant trees. Therefore, there exist the indiscriminate treatment to plant life, also, the killing and unauthorised capture of birds and insects that would have served to prolong the reproduction of plants.

To put an end to these practises of disregarding our ecosystem; there is an exigent move to implement and utilise another resource to build our homes and schools; and also to change formation of building. To illustrate further, high rise buildings can serve as an effective alternative, both in the utilisation of the limited space to build and in meeting the needs of the population it serves. Again, engineers and architects can inform, design and structure out another durable material to replace the use and dependence of wood in construction. Another step to take is the intentional and targeted awareness directed to planting of trees. To encourage afforestation is to replenish, multiply and secure the future our environment and tropics.

Summarily, there is no exhaustible level of protection and care we can give in regards to the conservation of our inartificial habitat. Therefore, the need to be cautious of how it is used; the demands placed on it, at the spite of overcrowding and structural scarcity begs restraint as alternatives abound and should be duly applied to ensure sustainability.