Some people believe that to protect local culture, tourism should be banned in some areas, whereas others think that change is inevitable and banning tourism will have no benefits. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that it is necessary to stop tourism for protecting the native culture of various areas, whilst their counterparts opined that it is not beneficial as changes are certain to happen. In my opinion, I believe that although tourism has some negatives, overall it is a boon to the country’s economy, therefore should not be banned.

A growing way of research suggests that tourism is a threat to local culture. One of the key reasons is that international tourism increases the intercultural interactions among people. This can lead to the adoption of foreign culture easily, which thereby impacts on native culture and traditions. Taking India as an example, the regular influx of tourists has increased communication between locals and visitors. Nevertheless, people are likely to migrate from their native countries to adopt the lifestyles of others.

However, a complete ban on tourism has some cons. One of the major impacts would be on the local businesses. This means that the owners of native companies might face a loss without consumerism as they considered tourists as their sole customers, which ultimately compel them to shut down their shops. For instance, a minimum of a six-month ban on visitors in Bali, for cleaning the polluted beach leads to shutting down the careers of many local shopkeepers, who used to sell souvenirs over there.

In conclusion, while tourism can benefit the countries developing economy, it can also threaten the traditional values of local culture. It is my considered opinion that despite some negative effects, I believe the pros of tourism to developing nations are undeniable, so it must not be prohibited.