Some people believe that the restoration of old buildings costs too much; we should demolish them and build new ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Presently, the issue of preserving ancient buildings has risen into prominence in many places in the country. However, it is a controversial topic introducing heavy debate concerns the economic aspect. That is why there has been a growing body of opinion in favor of demolishing these buildings and construct new ones. Up to a large extent, I concur with this school of thought because restoring older buildings does not only require a huge financial budget, but it would not serve different contemporary needs of that particular place.

Firstly, there is not an iota of vacillation that preservation of old buildings would not comply with the economic aspect. Given that most of these buildings currently are in worse condition and can collapse at any time. It would be foolish to waste taxes collected from the hard-earned money of the public without considering the resiliency of old buildings to survive further. Statics have shown the spike in the construction of the new building on the place of older ones in all parts of India. Therefore, taking the financial aspects into account, demolishing old buildings is recommended.

Let us not forget either that old building also unable to fulfill the current requirements of residents of that area. For instance, one place having older building lacks a hospital, which is the basic need of the hour. Provided that architecture of old one does not match with a modern hospital, even tough if governmental authorities spend limited budget on ancient buildings instead of preparing new medical institution, that would be wrong on humanitarian grounds. Thus, new buildings ought to be constructed on the place of these old ones to better serve human needs.

On the other hand, there is a strong argument for the restoration of old buildings considering them as a cultural carrier and symbol of historical importance. However, I contradict this statement by suggesting that every place has many other options to connect with history and their cultures such as art galleries and museums.

As illustrated above, in my perception, antique buildings need to be demolished for constructing new ones to avoid waste budget and meet the public's current requirements. If we try to restore historical monuments now, they will need maintenance and restoration at frequent times. So better to build brand new and modern buildings with modern material to enhance the aesthetic pleasure of the place.