Some people believe that the restoration of old buildings costs too much; we should demolish them and build new ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the renovation of ancient buildings is extremely expensive. Hence destructing them to build novel ones is believed to be more efficient. While this idea may seem more practical from a modern perspective, I think that keeping these buildings would be more beneficial.

Admittedly, destroying these obsolete structures and building new ones seems immensely helpful. Since they are considered to be uninhabitable any more, pulling them down and reconstructing other facilities would vastly help governments. These places not only can be used as governmental facilities but can also be used to increase occupational capacity especially in major cities. Secondly and more importantly, in order to preserve these buildings, repairments are required invariably. This process requires substantial amounts of funds that would not have an immediate obvious influence on the welfare of citizens.

However, I contend that preserving these buildings would contribute to the development of both culture and national income. Regarding culture, these historic structures maintain the old style of architecture which is considered to be a part of the identity of citizens' ancestors. They can encourage people to save their habits and traditions throughout various centuries. As for the national income, many tourists around the world are immensely interested in visiting these old buildings, especially if they were prominent in the world's history. The Colosseum, for example, despite that it is partially destroyed and looks like basic construction, Italy gains tens of millions every year due to the numerous visitors who come from all over the world to watch it.

To recapitulate, replacing these buildings may seem valuable for many. However, I consider their both cultural and national significance is far more paramount.