Some people believe school children should be given multiple short vacations, while others believe they should get one long vacation. Give the advantages of both and express your own point of view.

While some people are in favour of giving several short vacations to children, others opine that one long vacation is much better. In my opinion, children will benefit more if they get several short holidays during the course of the academic year.

There are many advantages to short vacations. To start with, children can take a break from studies frequently. Sometimes taking a short vacation can help children get rid of their mental stress. Nowadays we see that most children attend private coaching classes after school and hence they get hardly any spare time. This can affect them mentally. However if they have a short vacation in between exams they can relax themselves, get rid of their mental stress and feel refreshed. When they get short vacation, they have enough time to spend with their loved ones. They can go to their relative’s house and spend time with them which we don’t see these days.

Getting a long vacation also has its advantages. When they have long vacations they can join some coaching classes like football coaching, swimming, drawing or dancing etc. They can also travel to distant tourist destinations. However, in my opinion, in this age of intense competition and the pressure to excel in both curricular and co-curricular activities, children need small breaks from time to time to recharge themselves.

To conclude, after analysing both sides of the argument it is not hard to see that there are benefits to both short and long vacations. However, considering the amount of pressure that children have to deal with on a day-to-day basis, I would recommend more short vacations than one long vacation.