Some people believe that teenages should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Few opine that young adults must be involved in free community service related work during their leisure time as this has advantage for both children and the society. I completely agree with the aforementioned statement as young children gets involved in these kind of activity, they will value their life and community can also benefit from it because they do not have to spend extra money on salaries.

In today’s day and age most children spend their free time in front of TV and computer games which is deteriorating their health. Instead parents and teachers must encourage these young souls to participate in community work such as cleaning the roads by picking up garbage and helping older and less fortunate people with their needs. This way, they get a chance to meet many new people and have empathy towards other. Also, this will teach them discipline which is an important life skill. In addition, these kind of jobs give them a sense of purpose and be thankful for what they have. For example, I did community service in my local area, where I take senior citizens for walk every weekend and take care of them during medical emergencies which gave me immense satisfaction.

Having said that, it also benefits society, as more millennials volunteers to take up hands on job at free of cost, the local government can spend that money on improving their environment. For example, Ruling bodies spends hundred thousand dollars on salaries which leaves them no money to spare to improve their area. If, teenagers contribute their work on regular basis, government can save some fund and can utilize that money to provide much safer surroundings by fixing security cameras on every street corner. For example, in my area, kids clean roads every weekend and have saved 15,000 rupees every month for 1 year and this money has been utilized to build shelter for homeless people.

In conclusion, children must be exposed to reality and should have sympathy and empathy towards others situation which is utmost important for being human.